Four More Years

“We are an American family and we rise or fall together as one nation and one people.” – @BarackObama

I think it’s fair to say that this generation now has our own version of the “I Have a Dream” speech. The terms have changed though. We have moved beyond building a vision of a united America. President Obama has delivered a decisive call-to-action. We must heal our nation, rebuild our relationships and work together to create a brighter future for all.

I commend everyone who exercised their right to vote, no matter the candidate, and my sympathy goes out to those who were unable to vote despite their best efforts.

Howard Fineman wrote “President Barack Obama did not just win reelection tonight. His victory signaled the irreversible triumph of a new, 21st-century America: multiracial, multi-ethnic, global in outlook and moving beyond centuries of racial, sexual, marital and religious tradition.”

My name is Sherry Clayton, and I am a proud citizen of the United States of America.

 
Articles and Videos:
Categories: Activism, Social

Tags: , , , ,

4 replies

  1. From Britain I can say I am relieved, and that the world became a little safer with this result.

    • Hi Alex. I imagine there are many world leaders breathing a sigh of relief as well. I’m always concerned when someone speaks so cavalierly of reducing jobs, cutting support programs and starting wars. At least we have four more years to heal and grow.

I woud like to hear from you

