Monday: Focus

Misty Copeland:  Soaring High on Success

Misty is the first to admit that she is an unlikely ballerina. As she says, “I’m 5 feet 2, I started when I was 13, I’m black!  There’s so many things [odds against me] but I’ve made it happen.”   And indeed, she has.  Misty is one of the most successful ballerinas today.  The first African-American female soloist of the American Ballet Theatre.  She’s known as much for her amazing dancing talent as her beauty and eloquence in describing her experience in a predominant caucasian industry.

 

An Unlikely Ballerina

Misty is extremely focused and admits that her success comes at the price of sacrificing her personal life but she accepts that compromise.  Her objective is to become the first African-American Principal ballerina of the American Ballet Theatre.  I don’t know if she will achieve that goal and I’m sure she is giving her all to make it happen.  Afterall, she believes “you can do anything you want, even if you are being told negative things.  Just stay strong and find motivation.  I’m very lucky to be where I am but it’s possible.”

Categories: Professional Bios

Tags: , , , , , ,

I woud like to hear from you

