Small Acts of Kindness: The Power of One

feed one jpg

I’m often amazed by the impact an individual can have in the world: both negative and positive.  We are often intimidated by the thought of making a difference.  Volunteerism can seem like a daunting task when there is so much need.  Often people will forego a simple act of altruism because they feel a small act doesn’t make a difference, but I assure you that it does.

During my last year of Highschool, I had no idea if I would attend college, and if accepted, what my major would be.  Being the first to graduate from college in my immediate family, the guidance and confidence wasn’t there to support my ambition. One day in computer class, my teacher walked by and said very casually, “you’re very good with computers, maybe you should major in Computer Science”.  I latched on to that encouragement with everything I had and gathered the courage to pursue my dreams.  I was accepted to DePaul University in Chicago where I majored in Computer Science and was recruited by Accenture in 1997.

A simple observation and an encouraging word likely changed the course of my life for the better.   Acts of kindness have set many visionaries on their path to success.  Everyone from doctors, scientists, business leaders, nobel peace prize winners and Presidents.   So, don’t underestimate the power of small acts of kindness.  It just may change the world.

Visit http://www.1actperday.com/index.php for inspiration on your one act of kindness.

Categories: Quotes

Tags: , , , , , , ,

I woud like to hear from you

