Monday: Get Up and Move

Here’s Why I Exercise at Work

It’s really simple.

I don’t want to die young.

I don’t want diabetes.

I don’t want to be overweight.

For these reasons, I have begun walking 12 flights of stairs twice a day with my co-workers.  Sure for some of you, this is just a warm-up but for me it’s a big change. Last week, I wrote about how sitting is killing usStudies have shown that consistent, vigorous workouts don’t do much to offset the damage we do to our bodies by sitting down all day.  There are some other clever solutions my co-workers use to keep their metabolism going during the day:

  1. Talk a walking meeting.  There’s something about walking and talking that gets the creative juices flowing. Steve Jobs was famous for his walking meetings.
  2. Use light hand weights at your desk.  Just be discrete. No grunt-inducing bench presses please.
  3. Stand and walk at least every 45 minutes.  Stay seated any longer and your metabolism begins to slow down.  To keep your brain and body running on all six cylinders, use the Pomodoro Technique when you’re working.
  4. Take a Grok squat.  To avoid the stiffness that comes from sitting and standing all day, incorporate several short Grok squats into your daily routine. The Grok Squat is very similar to a catcher’s stance in baseball. Simply squat down until your butt touches your ankles. Keep your heels firmly on the ground and back straight. Hold that position for 30 seconds to a minute. You should feel your hamstrings, quads, Achilles tendons, lower back, and groin gently stretching. If you’re super stiff, it may take a few days of practice to sink into a full-on Grok Squat. Keep at it. Your back and hips will thank you.
  5. Visit the restroom on another floor.  For instance in my building, I can walk down to the 10th floor restroom and walk back up to my office on the 14th floor.
  6. Get a standing desk. One of the best things you can do to mitigate the health-sapping effects of your desk jockey job is to get a standing desk.
  7. Walk to or from work if you can.  I know this can be troublesome because frankly once the day is over, I just want to be back home. Like, instantly.

Incorporate one or more of these options into your routine and see which works best for you.  I have begun feeling much better since incorporating the stair climbing into my workday.  Remember, it’s much more fun with co-workers.  You get to encourage and laugh with/at each other.

Sherry

_________________________________

When you have a moment…….

Read:  Sitting is Bad for You.  What You Can Do About it at Work (Inc.com)

Watch:

Laugh:

what I look like running - humor

Categories: Health, Self-Improvement

Tags: , , , , ,

I woud like to hear from you

