At the Table: Dinner with a Purpose

In 2012, I was inspired to launch ‘At the Table‘: a topic driven dinner series offering learning and networking opportunities.  It’s similar to the networking group I helped to launch at Accenture.  As part of the program, every year African-American junior executives from around the country would gather in one city for a day of programing and a weekend of social activities. 

During my career, I have worked in the corporate, non-profit and public sectors. Irregardless of the organization, I have found that one of the biggest road blocks to progress is not having key stakeholders and change agents at the table.  If we are truly making an authentic effort to understand problems and find lasting solutions, everyone should be at the table and everything should be on the table .  And when I say everyone should be at the table, I mean diversity in the true sense:  gender, ethnicity, sexual preference, expertise, talents, skills, interests, age, etc.

Roys group photo

For each event, I bring together a diverse group of people who represent a variety of industries, interests and causes.  Each guest is either a connector or someone seeking connections and opportunities.  In every case, they are authentic and open communicators who are willing to share their stories and insights.

demography and crisis - talk contd

When I held the first At the Table dinner event in October 2012, I had three primary objectives in mind:

  • Create an intimate environment conducive to authentic, thoughtful and lively debate
  • Provide event formats that engage, inform and inspire
  • Generate opportunities for participants to broaden their network, develop partnerships, learn something new and explore new career and business opportunities

Education Dinner 2012 1

Visit the At The Table site.

Categories: Social

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. What a great idea. I would like to start something like this in my area. What kinds of topics have you discussed?

  2. Hi Sherry, thanks for giving me a heads-up about “Sit at the Table.” Great idea. Plus receiving your URL I was able to visit your site. Like what I see. Keep up your good work. Best, Linda Bolliger

I woud like to hear from you

