The Word: Deserve

I haven’t written a “The Word” post in a while. I’m inspired to write this one because of an interesting article I came across on Linkedin: ‘Deserve’ is a Toxic Word by Tomasz Tunguz

This spurred me to look up the formal definition of the word. the word - deserve

The most negative aspect I can assign to the word is that the determination of whether something or someone is deserving is purely subjective.  Being deserving leads to the consideration of other related words like merited, earned and preferred.  All of which leads one to think of being somehow measured, judged and entitled.

Categories: Quotes

Tags: , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. I think the distinction lies in whether others feel someone is deserving or whether a person deams themselves as deserving.

I woud like to hear from you

