Life Lessons: Honesty

How are you doing today?

Stop and think before you answer that question.

many faces

Are you always honest when someone asks how you are doing?

When someone asks me how I’m doing, I may hesitate  before answering.  Most likely, I’m looking at the person while thinking “Do they really want to know how I’m feeling, or is this an opening for them to tell me how they are feeling?”

Most days, I will say “I’m fine” and this is true. On rare occasions, I will actually growl, because I’m having a crappy day and don’t have the patience or inclination to form words and sentences. Other times, I will simply shrug my shoulders and say, “Okay”.

The interesting question is “how often do I adjust my answer based on the other person’s condition”?  For instance, if the person inquiring about my mood looks sad, do I allow that to dampen my happiness, and change my response?

Do you? Probably so.

I’ll leave you with these thoughts on honesty from Maya Angelou as written in a Letter to My Daughter:

“Let’s tell the truth to people. When people ask, ‘How are you?’ have the nerve sometimes to answer truthfully. You must know, however, that people will start avoiding you because, they, too, have knees that pain them and heads that hurt and they don’t want to know about yours. But think of it this way: If people avoid you, you will have more time to meditate and do fine research on a cure for whatever truly afflicts you.”

And then there’s the legendary John Lennon who said, “Honesty may not get you a lot of friends, but it’ll always get you the right ones.
The Word - Honest - John Lennon

____________________

Sherry iconThanks for sharing and liking my work. I am taking part in the National Blog Post Month event where I will blog everyday during the month of November. Be sure to subscribe to my blog via WordPress or email to get my updates.  You can also connect with me on twitter @sherry563Linkedin and Facebook.

Categories: Quotes, Self-Awareness

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I woud like to hear from you

