Joel Hall Dancers Jazzing and Joying it Up

A Nuts & Bolts Performance

JHDancers FB Photo

Joel Hall Dance Centre is a non-profit Chicago dance school whose purpose is to awaken the dancer in everyone’s soul.

I had the pleasure of attending their holiday performance of Nuts & Bolts on Sunday, December 1st at the Ruth Page Dance Center in River North Chicago. My friend David invited me because one of his co-workers was performing that afternoon.

There were dancers in costume in the lobby before the performance. They were probably there for the kids but I couldn’t resist getting a photo.

JHDancers photo before

The dance acts were a blend of jazz, ballet and hip hop dance methods. The musical numbers blended classical, jazz and hip-hop as you would expect – or not. It was truly creative and a joy to watch. Everything from the colorful costumes to the talented dancers.

The crowd was really into the performance – with audience members cheering on their favorite performers.

JHDance Center Banner

It was a joyous and engaging performance. I was smiling from beginning to end and marveling that I had not heard of this group before. It’s a jewel in Chicago and I plan to see much more of their work. Check out the Joel Hall Dance Centre website and Facebook events page.

______________________

Sherry iconThanks for sharing and liking my work. Be sure to subscribe to my blog via WordPress or email to get my updates.  You can also connect with me on twitter @sherry563Linkedin and Facebook.

Categories: Culture

Tags: , , , ,

I woud like to hear from you

