Chiselling Yourself Against Life

The Lessons of Mr Hsieh Tsun-Yan

Mr Hsieh Tsun-Yan is a Counselor to CEOs as part of the Linhart Group, Advisor to Boards and mentor to leaders. He helps CEOs, Boards, Owners, and Senior Executives tackle their toughest leadership and organizational development challenges and opportunities.

Hsieh Tsun-Yan of Linhart Group

The post is about an amazing speech he gave when invited to address the class of National University of Singapore. He opened by saying, “I may not be good for anything, but I have seen the world.”  Mr. Tsun-Yan goes on to deliver his five key discoveries in life:

1. The education that you are having have already built in you all the makings of a great career for you somewhere in the world.  Having a good career and living the good life means to me, specifically, doing something that will sustain you maturely, mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually. The fuel for that sustenance will come within the activity itself.

2. Whether you can fulfill that potential or not really depends on how well you discover and develop yourself.  It’s in you. That great career person is already in you. The question is “do you know it”?

In discovering and developing yourself, you get to do what you want to do. Not what others want you to do but what you are and who you can be. It may not be as easy as it sounds, but it is critical.

3. To discover you – that takes a lifetime of work and courage because it is an endless journey. There’s more to it if you pay attention to what your mind, your body and your soul is telling you.

5. Over your entire career, what the world ultimately values, much more that what you are and do, is who you are.  When I asked my CEO clients why they pay my rates and keep me around, the answers invariably came back to who I am; not what I know or what I do.  In this day and age, anything you don’t know can be found on Wikipedia or Google. What you know and what you can do is of far less value than who you are.

Here’s why I think these are so important and pertinent:

  • The first third of my life, I became what people wanted me to be.
  • Second third, I became conscious of what I could do and mobilized to learn and apply that.
  • Last third, I’m inspired by the pursuit of who I am and what I can be.

From a person that would not speak up until spoken to, I was a very good Chinese school boy. Taught and raised by my traditional Chinese parents. I became one of the most enthusiastic speakers to vast audiences across the world.

Finding who you are is two-thirds of the battle that is ahead of every single one of you; because already there is a great person and a great career inside of every one of you.

______________________

Sherry iconThanks for sharing and liking my work. Be sure to subscribe to my blog via WordPress or email to get my updates.  You can also connect with me on twitter @sherry563Linkedin and Facebook.

Categories: Personal Development, Professional Development, Self-Awareness, Self-Improvement

Tags: , , , , , ,

I woud like to hear from you

