Delicious Dialogue: Jane Eyre #3

Delicious Dialogue - Jane Eyre #5

I have lived a full life here.

I have not been trampled on.

I have not been petrified.

I have not been excluded from everything that is bright.

I have known you Mr. Rochester and it strikes me with anguish to be torn from you.

Am I a machine without feelings?

Do you think because I am poor, obscure, plain and little that I am soulless and heartless?

I have as much soul as you and full as much heart.

And if God had blessed me with beauty and wealth, I could make it as hard for you to leave me as it is for I to leave you.

I’m not speaking to you through mortal flesh.

It tis my spirit that addresses your spirit as if we passed through the grave and stood at God’s feet equal.

As we are.

~ Jane Eyre to Lord Rochester

Categories: Interests

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I woud like to hear from you

